Hiragana and Katakana table

Learn Hiragana and Katakana from the table. The audio will help you with the pronunciation. Let’s start your Japanese learning today.

Part 1 Sei-on

Hiragana and Katakana are further broken down into 3 forms.

  • Sei-on. あ(a) to ん(n).
  • Daku-on. Voiced consonant. e.g. が (ga)、ば (ba)
  • Yo-on. Contracted sound. e.g. きゃ (kya)、きゅ (kyu)、きょ (kyo) 

Today, we will learn Sei-on あ(a) to ん(n). Sei-on means clear sound.  Both Hiragana and Katakana have ten columns. Starting with A column, then Ka, Sa, Ta, Na, Ha, Ma, Ya, Ra and Wa.

The first thing is to memorise the あ (a) column, a, i, u, e, o. Then the か (Ka) column, Ka, Ki, Ku, Ke and Ko. You will notice that the characters in A column are attached to K. The rest of the columns also use A columns and follow the same pattern.

The very last character is ん(n). It is a nasal sound. There are no words in Japanese beginning with ん.

Here, we will use Hiragana and Katakana table in the Japanese style. As Japanese read from top to bottom and right to left, あ column also starts from the right.

Listen to the audio and read them out loud. A tip here is to use your stomach muscle and mouth movement. Read each one slowly so that it will sound clear.

When you are confident with Hiragana and Katakana, move on to the revision lessons with Pathway Japan.  With free One-Go package, prep for your further learning in Japan.  Enjoy your first lesson!

あ~な行 A to Na column

Hiragana Katakana Table

あ行 A column

か行 Ka column

さ行 Sa column

た行 Ta column

な行 Na column

は行~ん Ha column to N

Hiragana Katakana Table

Note that in La column, R is used when romanised. However, it is pronounced with L. 

は行 Ha column

ま行 Ma column

や行 Ya column

ら行 Ra column

わ行 Wa column

ん N

Related Topic